Step into Spring

If you look at my journal you'll maybe remember that in December many people in the area decorate a window in the lead up to Christmas. The advent windows are quite a big thing now and if you take part you're invited to make a donation to the upkeep of the three local defibrillators.

The manager of the local day centre suggested that this year we do 'Step into Spring' windows with donations going to the local environment group which does such a lot to improve and maintain the natural environment round here. Today's the day the Spring windows start. I guess we continue for the four weeks till Easter.

I've said before that the creative gene bypassed me so the best I can do is decorate an Easter twig weeks before I would usually. Well, I added a felt daisy garland - both as blipped. I'm happy to have the decoration in the window - anything to be cheery. These things do promote community spirit too. Some people I know will have wonderfully intricate and beautiful windows but it's the taking part that counts.

Today is our younger granddaughter's second birthday. It also marks the one year anniversary of the last time my little family was all in the same place at the same time. We  gathered for her first birthday but this time she will be with her mum, dad and big sister with the rest of us on Zoom singing happy birthday and eating cake remotely.

I can't decorate windows creatively but I can bake so I'd better get on with it.  A big happy birthday to lovely M and a good Sunday to all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.