Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Sweet violet

Viola odorata

Halfway through last year I caught up with the churchyard of St John's.

The church is very old (it has wall paintings I always assumed were Medieval but I see online they are claimed to be Saxon).  It is not far outside the old city's East Gate and is where pilgrims prayed as they set out for Canterbury.  But today it was the churchyard not the church I went to check up on. 

To be honest, I'm in awe of whoever looks after it.  For a very small place it has been sown with the most wonderful collection of wildflowers, some of which I blipped last year.  So I thought it must be time to check up on any early risers.  That's where I found this violet amongst a carpet of others.  Magical!

Which makes me wonder, are we going for another batch of WildflowerWeek challenges this year?  I'm up for it if you are.  I thought we could perhaps start the first one on Sunday 28th March through to Saturday 3rd April.  Let me know if the thought appeals and I'll put something up on the challenge page..

Enjoy what's left of your weekend, lovely blippers  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.