Project Ankle

During the time I’ve been incapacitated with my ankle I’ve been collecting a few images with my phone, but also setting up some small still life’s that also embrace the theme of plastic.  I had 6 weeks worth of Dalteparin to inject (I didn’t do the first few days myself) so an awful lot of plastic wrapping as well as a bruised tummy.  I finally did the last one last Friday.  I guess my next job and the one I often fail to do is to choose images to form a project collection from the six weeks I spent ‘hopping’.

I had an excursion into the garden yesterday with the physio from the Rehab team and we filled up the bird feeders and she collected the box of tulip bulbs that I’d abandoned in the greenhouse.  She was determined that they’d get a chance at life, whereas I probably would have consigned them to the compost bin.  (Tulips don’t do well after their first year as the bulbs split into bulblets.).   So after this very positive start I struggled quite a bit with the Airboot, mainly because it’s beginning to affect my knee, though this was helped by loosening the top strap (I looked it up online and it’s a recognised effect), also the wound on the inside of my ankle is not as well healed as the one on the outside, and that catches as a pressure point in the boot and then my foot was hot inside and somewhat swollen so I ended up having a lie down with the boot off and later as I sat at the laptop I took it off again.  I had the impression from the hospital Physio that this was ok when I wasn’t walking but I think I’d like to phone her now I know a bit more about the impact and find out what benefits the boot offers.  I got the impression that she had some concerns about the boots too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.