No funny looking pics today, just straight stuff!

I've never been here before in all of the 24 years I've lived in the area and it's only downstream from Worsbrough Reservoir.  I've been doing a bit of research about the Barnsley canal and discovered that this stretch of the canal was where the Barnsley Canal and the Dove and Dearne Canal joined (well a bit further downstream).  Most of the canal is filled in now (I didn't get that far today) and in fact this stretch of the canal was the first part to be abandoned.  It was built to facilitate the moving of coal initially for the Wentworth Estate, but then the railway came and rendered the canal unviable (I think they had some leakage as well.). It actually makes a very attractive little country park area in its own right.  It's a pity that people have been on one stretch with scrambler bikes . I stopped my exploration at that point as there was no way I wanted to wade through several feet of mud.

I'd been to get some more kindling from the small nursery that does a busy sideline (or maybe the main line in logs and kindling) which is just up the road from this spot.

It's been a beautiful day as you can see in the photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.