Coke bottle cloches

I don't know whether these are necessary (as they are for crocus bulbs) but I have made some cloches from dead Coke bottles to protect my summer blooms-to-be.

After a spin on my exercise bike and a couple of hours staring at a spreadsheet, I spent the rest of the day in the back garden. I sowed seeds (including sweet peas harvested from last year's blooms), planted bulbs, and weeded. In respect of the latter, wild garlic is my enemy. I understand that it will take 3-4 years of effort to eradicate it completely. I am on the case with my mini trowel and fork!

This evening it was our Zoom book group meeting. As ever, it was great to see the others, including ArcLight, LauraMuir, Ridgeback13, and Winsford. Opinion on The luckenbooth was mixed. I was one of its supporters.  On 12th April we will be discussing A thousand ships by Natalie Haynes, should you like to read along with us.

Exercise today: 55 minutes on the exercise bike; gardening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.