Very True!

Actually I don't think I have ever had five friends at the same time - maybe five in my whole life! I'm not good at the small talk which is the key to the door of getting to know people, so I don't get to know them. And I'm a bit weird! Probably!! Being with five people all at the same time sounds very stressful and overwhelming anyway - it was OK when I was young and it was a party situation where all people do is dance and drink maybe! My photo is of the latest sign outside 200° coffee shop.

I have been over to Meg today to see the Folks and it was quite dramatic really! As I got off the train I got a call from my Dad - I thought he said that he was on the floor waiting for an ambulance! He also wanted me to call at the chemist to pick up a prescription for him so I hurried along to do all that and get to theirs.

As I turned into the road (Which was actually closed for road resurfacing!) I saw that the ambulance was there. I was met by Estelle who said that my Mum had fallen and as they hadn't been able to pick her up off the floor, they'd ended up calling the ambulance via the emergency call button.

The ambulance people gave her a thorough check over, heart rate, BP, temperature, everything really, and they put the ECG machine on her too and said that, physically at least, she is in excellent health.

Mum was civilised towards them to begin with, but towards the end of them being there became quite offensive and aggressive. The two ambulance people - a lad of 21 and a woman in her late 40's were excellent of course, and dealt with it very well.

Over the course of all this I learned by snippets of conversation that Dad's appointment with the Doctor on Monday to discuss the situation with Mother and issues with his own health had gone well and he is being referred to the Dementia Care Team with a view to finding a care home for Mum. The paramedic lady agreed that this is necessary and is making a "Care Concern statement"  as she feels that the current situation is far too much for my Dad, particularly as Mum does not like having people going into the house!

I mentioned that the road was closed by workmen - I was shocked when the young paramedic lad returned from collecting something from the ambulance saying that some of the workmen had complained and told him to move the ambulance. He did, as he said he hadn't the energy for a debate with them. I know they also had work to do, but they could not know whether or not the situation was serious. They must have known that the ambulance was not there for the fun of it!

All ended well fortunately. I am glad to be home! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.