Colstro

By Colstro

Boys and their toys

Oh - hang about, this is a girl.

Spent the day at "Focus on Imaging" at the National Exhibition Centre in Birmingham. I always enjoy looking around this annual exhibition of photographic kit and accessories. It didn't feel quite as busy this year as in previous years, but there were still plenty of people there. If you wanted to climb to the top of the Canon stand to try out their long lenses (as here), you had to join a significant queue. (I didn't bother.)

Although plenty of women do attend this event, men do seem to predominate. Many walk around with big cameras and even bigger lenses hanging round their necks, and they are often to be seen congregating around lighting demonstration stands where scantily clad young ladies are posing for the demonstrator. Equipment is the major theme of the show, but there are also plenty of companies showing off framing and other display methods, consumables such as paper, and there are also many stands with displays of photographs which I find enjoyable.

A good day and I didn't spend much more than I intended (yes, I added a couple of "toys" to my collection - that's boys for you).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.