A day in the life

By Shelling

Goodness me

They've arrived, the Liverleaves, or hepatica. A little later than last year but that's probably due to the masses of snow we had during February. Still budding but it won't be long before The Grove is carpeted with them.

In the morning we completed the song we've worked on since December, which feels good. Now I can devote more time fretting about finding somewhere to live, which doesn't feel good but I'm sure I can find new projects to keep my problems at arms length.

Te weather was windy and chilly but the sun was out and about so I walked down to The Grove to look for the liverleaves. I wasn't alone down there, this time of year is so special and the place is famous around here. You could see people walking very slowly, with eyes fixed at the ground. If you didn't know better you'd think The Grove was full of depressed people. 

I went along a new path that took me to an irrigation pond that I actually haven't visited before. The larger farms around here often have built their own water supply to last over the typically dry summers. They make good goals for walks and are little oases in an otherwise dry landscape, they are also good refuge for birds. 
Looking over my shoulder I noticed it was time to find a shortcut to get me home a bit earlier than planned, see extra. I made it home in good time before the bad weather and did my yoga before supper.
A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.