carliewired

By carliewired

To Paul Lake

Winter still has its
fingers firmly attached to
this lake in the woods

~ carliewired

I  thought I should drive up to Paul Lake this morning. I haven't been there since last spring. The lake is about a 30 minute drive from my house on paved road. The condition of the road is not very good at the moment. It's clear and dry but pocked with frost heaves making driving a bit of a challenge. 

My first stop was at the gates to the Provincial Park, but they were firmly blocked. I thought it might have been kept open for winter recreation, but it was not. I turned there and drove back to the community of Paul Lake. The lake itself is at an elevation of 2500 ft (770 m) so I shouldn't have been too surprised to find it iced over. 

The road to and from the lake travels through ranchlands. I enjoyed watching horses chow down on hay. One old empty log cabin still stands. I have photographed it and painted it many times. Last year's dry, brittle vegetation remains visable along the edge of the road. 

It's another day with high cloud making everything grey. 

Tonight we set our clocks back an hour to begin daylight savings time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.