The Slough and the River

Another day of 
grey and damp so finding some
inspiration's tough

~ carliewired

Daylight Saving Time came into effect in the wee hours of this morning. Moving the clocks ahead one hour shouldn't be a major event, but it is. There has long been talk of abandoning this silly practice, but our province will not until our American neighbours do so. 

I was off in search of breakfast, coffee and photos before 8:30. The goal was McArthur Island Park to finish breakfast and to find some photos. 

The park was buzzing with activity. There was a baseball team out on the field warming up with exercise. The Canada geese were everywhere this morning, including the baseball field. They raised the alarm when someone got too close. Joggers were in full force. Squads of them filled the Rivers Trail. May I never be that desperate for exercise that I need wear those stretchy outfits and thump across the pathways in pace with a mob! 

At the slough, the ducks held the space under the bridge while the geese dominated elsewhere. More water and less ice is encouraging. I got a shot of my mountains shrouded in low cloud.  On the south side, the disc golfers were enjoying the course. They had to play around the Canada geese who were not making it easy for the players. I got a shot looking down river towards the lake. The river is so low that the docks now sit on the sand. 

I took a good look at the trees in and around the island park. I noted that many cottonwoods along the river have been damaged by beavers. The city has learned to cage up the bottoms of the trunks with wire fencing. I see where the woodpeckers have nearly demolished an old cottonwood. They would like to do the same to my house! I noticed many 'tree sculptures' in the shallows of the river. 

It was a mostly cloudy 3 C when I did my walk around the island. I was home before 10 and will remain. I'm expecting my daughter for dinner. 

We're in for a mix of sun and cloud today and a high of 10 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.