Eagles on the River

Just seeing these birds
lifts my spirits once again.
I feel privileged.

~ carliewired

I was up looking out my windows at 7 AM. It was just 0 C with the most feeble light over my mountains that was supposed to be a sunrise. I wasn't encouraged to head out with my camera. I made a pot of coffee and took my sweet time enjoying my first mug. 

At 8:30 I thought I should really get on with it. I left for Mission Flats. Of course, I was on the lookout for eagles. I found a number of them set up along the north side of the river channel near the airport. They were silent and rather still this morning. I was surprised how a couple with three dogs scampering about could just walk by them so close without disturbing them at all. I managed to catch one juvenile in the tree. He was not all that cooperative. As I walked up to the base of the tree for a clear shot, he would fly off to a different tree. He did this three times before I was successful. I took a shot to the east to see my mountains and another looking west to the lake. 

I was home with my breakfast by 9:30. I will remain at home today. I could use another day of peace and quiet. 

The forecast today is for a high of 6 C with periods of rain. I'm not convinced we'll get any showers as the day is brightening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.