Riverside Park Before 9

I am surprised by
some human activity
in my local park. 

~ carliewired

As much as I would like to be gone before 7, it's now rather dark. I felt the pressure this morning to escape before the garbage truck arrived so I did leave at 7:30.

It's a rather grim looking morning. It was a mild but rather blustery 9 C. The windchimes on my deck were playing a symphony. I made Riverside Park my destination. I parked near the tennis courts and was very surprised to see a blue tent in the Uji Friendship Garden. I walked towards the pier on the path beside the river and down onto the riverbed. I got a gloomy view of my mountains but caught sight of birds on the river. I was pleased to see some Trumpeter swans near the Overlander Bridge. They've been missing from the landscape for a couple of weeks or more. There were lots of Canada geese everywhere in the park. They seem to have taken over the city. I even saw a pair beside our main street a couple of blocks from the park and the river.

I walked as far as the pier which is still off limits due to construction in the park. There was a great deal of activity along the walkway. I believe the level of the walkway is to be raised so it will not succumb to flooding in the spring. I hope the crew is taking care around the large, mature trees there. I have come to realize why this venture is so expensive. It has been contracted to a engineering firm that appears to have a great abundance of vehicles. Many are merely parked for the day, some with their lights still blinking. Does every worker need to have their own pickup with the company name emblazoned on the side? 

I picked up some breakfast and a second coffee on the way home. I'm here for the day and am hoping I have my daughter's assistance to sort out my recycling which has taken over the back hall. 

We have been promised a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 11 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.