83 F

Shopping - the very
least favourite chore in my
week's activities

~carliewired

I only had three items on my list this morning - haircut, pillows for the bed and graphite. 

I first tried booking a cut online. No luck. The website continues to say the shop is closed when I know it's not. I tried calling the shop. No one answers. So, I had to drive there and present myself. 

This is a franchise hair salon so I never meet the same staff twice. The turnover is surprising. Staff is always great. Prices are great. Just getting an appointment can be tricky. When I arrived, I only had to wait 20 minutes for my turn. Done in 10 and out the door. 

Second stop was Wendy's. I got a bacon, egg and cheese croissant and a very large lemonade. The croissant was about the size of an eyepatch. (Yes, seriously!) The lemonade was so large (and tall) that I could barely get my hand around it. It took me more than an hour to finish it. 

Third stop was WalMart. Buying a pair of pillows used to be really simple. Now, there are firm pillows, soft pillows, pillows for side sleepers, pillows for back sleepers......I found a pair that I thought would work and I was out of there. 

At home, with a population of approximately 100,000, we have one Walmart. Here, with a population of 97,000, there are three Walmart stores. I don't understand it at all. 

No graphite to be found. I gave up and will have to go further afield. 

I caught my neighbour in the driveway for a chat as I was returning home. He's agreed to water my citrus trees for me again this summer. Bless his heart! I know he was a house painter in his younger days, so I asked him if he'd be interested in painting the front and back of my house. (Sides don't need it as they are under/inside awnings.) He's told me what I need to buy and he will keep the paint inside his house until the job is done. 

I'm in for the day and it's warming up nicely. Time to change clothes for the afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.