Fit to burst

I didn’t sleep particularly well last night, as I was really disturbed by what was going on in London. So this morning, I awoke fit to burst, in the sense that I really needed to have a change of scene in order to avoid a day in which I wound myself up even more than I already was. So, interpreting the edges of the Covid regulations generously, we headed to Seacliff and had a lovely time wandering around the beach, which was surprisingly quiet for a Sunday morning. Inevitably, this resulted in many pictures of Tantallon Castle and Bass Rock, but - hey - those are things you can never have too many pictures of.

Back here, and warmed up as it was chilly on the beach, I made yesterday’s tray bake from the Guardian. I’m not even the first blipper to do this, although I must admit that I didn’t make the glaze. I probably should have halved the quantities. The whole thing is a bit much, amounting to about 5 heart attacks per plate... I’ll put half of it in the freezer. I’m sure it will freeze fine. Mr A has announced that it is a bit too sweet, but he’s going to force it down. What sacrifices a man can make! Presumably it would have been even sweeter with the glaze.

He’s now headed into the kitchen to make us a crumble. I’m making the main course for supper - some sort of creamy smoked salmon pasta affair that will be very simple indeed. But not light.... So it doesn’t look as if it is going to be a day where calorie output exceeds calorie input.... But at least I feel more relaxed than I did, and personally - under lockdown - I think that this is the most important thing.

Speaking of surviving under lockdown, that brings the topic nicely back to my balcony garden, which is looking not too bad. The lilies have just poked their heads through the soil, so it won’t be long before I can start recording their progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.