DOLLY BLUE

Wahoo - a trip out today.  Obviously only locally but still a trip.  My car is in bad need of a run out for the battery so I thought I would just take him (I've name him Nick Note) on a circular trip, through Allithwaite, Flookburgh etc turning right at Haverthwaite and then back up the Dual Carriageway on the A590 through Lindale, Grange and home.

So I decided to make a morning of it too and stopped off halfway at Backbarrow.  I parked near the Lakeland Motor Museum and visited the Whitewater Hotel grounds (site of the old Dolly Blue factory).  Here is a link for anyone interested in history. Dolly Blue.

Over the River Leven, very full and fast flowing as you can see on through South Lakeland Holiday Village over a different little footbridge (as opposed to the one shown which is a road bridge) and back up to near the Lakeland Motor Museum.  We met about 4 different people, at different times walking their dogs but that was all.  One was a black Labrador, huge but still a puppy who was very enthusiastic and I was bent over patting it before I thought.  The lady owner apologised but no need, the dog doesn't understand about lockdown.  Anyway no matter I sanitised my hands 4 times afterwards just to be sure - she didn't touch my face at all as I didn't bend down that far.  Later on we saw her meeting up with another dog friend and they really having lots of runs and fun together, so lovely to see.

Another reason for the trip was because we had an engineer coming in this morning to fix the gas fire (no major issue just a new board needed inside the glass part) so it was good to be out of the way.
What a very warm Spring day and bright blue skies - a bit too bright for photography really, but still so enjoyable.

That was the end of my exciting day.  Who would have thought that a journey that only takes about 20 minutes to get to and 20 back could be so exciting.  It really felt like an expedition.  I was very mindful of not touching anything (except the dog).

Please see the extras for other views.  There are much prettier places to go but on such a nice day places are likely to be busy and the riverside is always interesting around there.  

Do take care and stay safe and see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.