Week 52, Day 1

When the first UK lockdown began we decided we needed to sort out what we had to do and to get some structure around our lives. So each day we have a list of things to do/key things that have happened, and for me all that goes into a black moleskine I had bought at the beginning of 2020 (J has her own notebook). It’s become really useful.

The lockdown, but more especially the need to shield, came as a shock, and took some adaptation. And now, after almost a year of shocks and turmoil, we begin the 52nd week, on a torrid Tuesday which began with the “routine” hospital visit and ends with phone calls and zoom meet ups.

I rested my notebook (I had only just started the new page) on a heavy book which I’ve used to flatten a home-made card. Thus the birdy background. Four easily identifiable species are visible in the image. One of them - magpie (I think, a lot is hidden by the outline of the Lleyn peninsula) - caused J real worry first thing. She had seen one, so was very keen to see another. Of course, she is not superstitious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.