pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

At risk

It was only a matter of time before the full effects of the pandemic started to bite a little closer to home.

So it was today, when a close colleague was put on the “at risk” list for redundancy. It felt like a punch in the stomach to me, so goodness only knows how she is feeling today. She was the first person I spoke to when starting the interview process for the role I now occupy. She has been there for me throughout all my personal shenanigans over the past couple of years, as I know she has for others in our close-knit team. She is the self-appointed mother hen and beating heart of our little unit and whilst we will of course move forward without her, it will simply not be the same.

Once again for my griping about my job sometimes, I am reminded that I am lucky to have one.

Fortunately, I was finishing early today to go on a walk around Levens Deer Park with a friend and as it turned out, a walk in the late evening sun whilst chatting away next to a gently flowing river is just what the doctor ordered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.