The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Angel on the Fawkes memorial

The sun shone, all day! I went back to work at school, and took the bus home afterwards, the one that drops me at the cemetery gates. I still don't feel like walking up hills, and besides it's fun to go to "Bisley road" on the bus, as my sister TML lives in or near "Bisley Avenue" , but on the other side of the world, in New Zealand!

Down in the cemetery, parts of which are managed as a nature reserve and quite overgrown, I spotted an angel on a cross. Thinking it might have been crucified, I stumbled down a bank to reach it. On closer inspection, it turns out to be the Fawkes family memorial, beginning with Florence Daisy Fawkes.

Fawkes must be a local name, for there is a lorry park in town named after them! Wonder if they were THE Fawkeses. I wrote an epic bad poem about Guy once, when I was about 10. From memory, the final verse:

...Alas, his cunning plot it failed
they* were discovered the day before
and all of them were burned at the stake
For they had not obeyed the law.

Quite so. Death before dessert. William McGonnagall, relinquish your crown!

This is not such a great pic, but I was in a hurry, because I had to go home, have lunch, and then get ready to give a massage! Not ideal, but afterwards we had a mug of tea in the cabin and we watched Bomble and Illium the cat next door, leap around in the spring sunshine. CleanSteve has spent the day relaxing, mostly, so he is going to do the food tonight. I have gone back to bed, to rest.

Hope to find out more about the Stroud Fawkeses, anon.


* the barrels of gunpowder stored in the cellar underneath the House of Lords

Stroud cemetery in previous blips:
Chapel
Summer evening

The cemetery I grew up beside:
Achnaba kirkyard

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.