The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Down at the Doctor's

How many towns have at their heart a Medical Centre that used to be a pub?
Welcome to Stonehouse! I go here to my WEA course every week, and today I skipped out early to catch the 4.00 pm bus, so I could catch the next bus home from Stroud.

The village green bus stop stands in front of the medical centre, formerly the Coach and Horses, converted c. 1994. A small pharmacy adjoins the building. The Globe public house is next to that, and is still a pub. Dan Brown, the Irish Paralympian cyclist, lives nearby.

As you can see, it was spring today, and very welcome! The men in coats are still dressed for winter, and indeed I am still in black. The weather is set to change again tomorrow...

I'm still trying to rest up as much as I can, which seems most of the time that I am not at work, or on a course. The lady from the Job Club (circa 2000) has joined the course! After first mistaking her for a former hairdresser of mine, I got her name right: not bad after 13 years! She apologised for not remembering mine, but said that she had dealt with over 4,000 people in that role.

Down at the Doctor's

TML's take on the building, last October. It's better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.