Industrial Sunset

Today was the Dreaded Day for my Mum to go into the care home. I went over to Meg on my usual train via a trip to town to take a few things she'd need to take with her.

It was just like a normal visit to start with though there was a bit of organising and packing to do (Estelle had already sorted most things!)

It was arranged for us to take her over at 3:30PM - later than ideal as that is the time her behaviour tends to deteriorate quite a bit and she was getting rather agitated, but poignantly the prospect of a drive in the car helped!

We went in my Dad's usual taxi - Neil the driver often does trips like this in his job and was very helpful. We arrived at the home, which does have  very good reputation, and the three young women who were waiting to greet us were very professional and so helpful. They fetched a wheelchair to take Mum in and she went in easily and - surprisingly - with a smile on her face! We'd been worried that it would be traumatic, but it could not have gone better if we had scripted it ourselves!

We were not allowed onto the premises of course because of Covid protocol but we will be allowed to visit in the future. I think they like to allow a little time to get new residents settled before welcoming visitors.

Hopefully she will settle in well and enjoy her new surroundings. It is in a lovely peaceful rural location and the staff are lovely. I'd Googled the place and it has very good ratings.

I went back with my Dad, made us coffee, and he put a jacket potato on for his tea. He said he was fine for me to go home, so I messaged Brian to fetch me. I took this photo on my Mobile Phone from Greetwell Hollow on the way home. Later in the evening the sky became even prettier.

We had chippy tea again for the second Saturday in a row - I was starving as I'd hardly eaten all day and it was getting late to be starting to cook. I'm quite tired too - all the stress of the build up has caught up with me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.