Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The flowers (and to be flowers)

A walk around the yard this morning checking out what is blooming and what is getting ready to bloom

The center photo is a dahlia!   I planted 10 dahlia bulbs for the first time and 2 are "missing"!    So I think either the squirrels had a delicacy or the deer.   This morning also when I went to check the spiderworts for buds..the plants on the left side of the bed had been chewed off a good bit.   Probably the deer but they did not eat them last year.  I don't think we have any rabbits because of the dog.  I am going to put some red pepper out just to see if it will help deter them.

I have one little tiny volunteer pansy!   I did not plant any pansies in the flower box this past winter so it was just a jumble of weedy looking things.   Just goes to show...weeds may not be what they appear to be  
So glad I left this little green shoot when I cleaned out the leaves.  

Also coming up with some buds is the honesty plants.  I have found that my plants will come back every year but they only bloom every other year.  I also found those little seeds had scattered in the yard and I have little plants that I need to move to better areas.  

The yellow jessamine is growing on one of the azalea bushes in the front yard.  It has some reddish buds but it is a later bloomer.  The pink azaleas are all ready to pop in the next few days.   The wisteria is starting to bud out!  I love this smell.   I wonder if the hummingbirds that might come by would see the red flowers on the pineapple sage plant.  I have my feeders out now.     More buds on the irises which is a first for me.  I guess I have done something right...which is not do anything with them! 

The green thing on the ground might be a periwinkle vine.   I will just have to wait and see.  I had some periwinkle near here but I thought it had died back but maybe it is surviving...again in spite of me.

A cool day but sunshiny.   A good day to wash the pollen off the car...it is coming fast and furious now!  

Have a good week Blippers!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.