Cine projector success!!

Some of you will remember back to November, when I was staying with mum and dad in Hoddesdon. To entertain myself, I got out dad's cine projector with the idea that we could watch some old films. Sadly, at that time I couldn't get it to run. I bought a new bulb but it still wouldn't work. Not wanting to be beaten, I brought it back home with me, and this afternoon took it apart a bit, wiggled some wires, reconnected the bulb, and at last it is working. Sadly too late for dad, but I think with hindsight he didn't need to see the old films. His memories were all vividly playing through in his computer sized memory.

Dad loved to make films on holiday. Not just on holiday, but weddings, Christmas, and this evening, once I had calmed after the excitement of getting it going, I discovered some film of my uncle Bob, my mums eldest brother, visiting with my cousin Steven to say their goodbyes before emigrating to New Zealand. It must have been about 1968. So these few stills are taken from the cine. The quality rather grainy, but still lovely to see (i projected onto the wall, then recorded it on my phone! Lol) I only had 3 short films which I had brought back so that I could use them to test it. I can't wait until I can get back to mum's after lockdown has ended, and watch more films.

Today has been a combination of sewing in the morning, and garden tidying in the afternoon. I didn't sleep well, after my very late night (1.45 am as I watched 4 episodes back to back of Married at First Sight Australia) but when I got up at 8, I found Jon on the sofa, fully clothed after his and Henry's escapades in the woods last night. They had returned at first light to avoid getting caught! They said all the kit worked and enjoyed their adventure! Mad people!!

Off to bed now. How quickly my long weekend has gone, and suddenly it's work again. Still so much I haven't done. I could enjoy an early retirement....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.