carliewired

By carliewired

Goose Patrol

With military
precision, geese are marshalled
off the island park!

~ carliewired

I was up early to get my groceries, then I was back out to play with my camera on McArthur Island. 

The park has become a hive of activity. The curling centre has become the north shore vaccination centre. The city has also closed the ring road for the week. I hope they are resurfacing/repaving the drive as it has developed potholes big enough to swallow up a Smart car.

I parked as far from the hubbub as possible. I took my camera up onto the Rivers Trail at the east side of the Island. The first order of business was to post my second "I Found A Quilted Heart" beside the trail. Of course, I have to do this while no one is watching so I had to wait patiently for walkers to go by. 

My surprise today was discovering the work of a certain fellow who chases the wild fowl out of the park. He has an orange creation on wheels which he operates remotely. It is able to move along at a fast clip on grass and pavement. When he's completed his duties, he loads it into his car's trunk and off he goes to another location. 

When I arrived the geese were honking and taking off for the river just over the bank. The geese don't move very far so I'm sure they will be back before too long. Canada geese certainly make something of a mess on the fields and along the trail. I would venture to say this fellow can expect his job to continue indefinitely. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.