carliewired

By carliewired

A Slice of the Rivers Trail

On a grey morning
with pink at first light, I had
hopes for some sunshine

~ carliewired

I drove to Pioneer Park along the South Thompson River near downtown. I parked east of the Red Bridge to walk the slice of the Rivers Trail between the Red Bridge and the Railway Bridge and back. 

Pioneer Park is listed as "dog friendly" but dogs must be leashed. That was not true for many this morning. Several were running free and I almost tripped over an over-friendly, over-sized pup who desperately wanted my attention. 

I made my escape to the west and continued on the Rivers Trail. Under the Red Bridge I tacked up my very first "I Found A Quilted Heart". This little creation falls under the category of a random act of kindness. One makes a fabric heart, attaches a tag and leaves it somewhere for a stranger to find. The tag includes the website address - www.IFAQH.com and the hashtag #IFAQH. The finder can check it in on the website or on the Facebook group. The stories of their findings are very touching. People do appreciate these little gifts, especially in these times. 

I walked as far as the Canadian National Railway Bridge where I discovered the Canada geese seem to have a big fascination with this bridge. Of course, these lumbering big birds don't land in trees but they seem to like the ledges on the bridge. They would certainly have a great vantage point on the river on these. The geese were making a huge lot of noise both on the bridge and in the river. They can certainly contort themselves when bathing. It is quite amusing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.