From the Railway Bridge.

Today I was up early to go and meet my prospective new employer. I think they are having me, as he said he'd be in touch when he's sorted out the rota. I don't think the person I'm replacing has actually left yet - he said she will be going soon.

It's another chippy for which, OK I do have quite a bit of experience, which will count for pretty much nothing! This shop is NOTHING like the one I worked in before, and I will be NEW!! A couple of the other staff have been there around 10 years each, which is good because it shows it's not a place with a high turnover of staff but it also means I will feel even more "new" (i.e. "blow-in") for a while! I'll also be the oldest by a good few years...

I know I have to do it as I need to get back out there, and I need the money, but I am panicking a bit! I've forgotten how to talk to anyone who is not a blood relative, and I talk mostly rubbish to them!

After getting home I put washing on, drifted about in a daze and then went up to Specsavers at Morrison's to collect hearing aid batteries for my Dad. I took this shot as I walked home! It was taken through the grubby Perspex of the pedestrian bridge over the railway line.

Once home again it was lunch-time, then I caught up on a bit of housework and sat down with a coffee to watch this weeks' Unforgotten. I have become used to being able to binge watch the shows I like whenever I have time to fit an episode in - this one a week thing is a bit annoying! Especially when it ends on such a cliff-hanger as it did this week!

Today is the anniversary of the first lockdown (Which really should have been at least a week earlier...) I am probably one of the few who have enjoyed the Lockdown to an extent - or at least been pretty content.

 Obviously I do not like the reason for it at all. It has been a horrendous time for so many people who thrive on social contact and even worse for those who have had the disease, lost loved ones to it or are still suffering the effects of Long Covid. For NHS workers suffering exhaustion and PTSD from working through it and for those who have lost jobs and businesses. Most of us have missed seeing our families...

But the vaccine rollout continues apace in the capable hands of the actual NHS - shortages and politicking notwithstanding - so here's to better and brighter days ahead - even if life will never be the same again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.