Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Pandemic Remembrance Day

Robert’s ‘walkies’ day, and wee Maggie and her dad arrived too, so they all set off together. 

JR’s back garden gym session has been abandoned until the weather at 9am is a bit warmer, so it was a zoom session instead. And another session this afternoon.

Today is the anniversary of the First Lockdown. More than 126,000 people have died in the UK, one of the worst tolls in the world. We’re not out of it yet, but now we do have the vaccines (more than 26 million have had their first jag). But there are so many societal problems which will take years, possibly decades to heal.

JR got a message to say her delivery had arrived for collection, so we all trooped round to Waitrose to pick it up. The others walked home, but I decided to go on into town to see the NHS flower rainbow on the Mound, but I really needed a drone to get a decent view of it. It hadn’t been there when I was last walking by, so I wondered how they did it so quickly. You can see how it was done in the extra.

I kept just missing buses, so I was pretty cold when I got home. But several Hot Cross Buns (toasted) went down very well when I did get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.