Pickled onion production

is under way. Shallots skinned while watching Tipping Point this afternoon. Yes it took me an hour, a fiddly job but I was distracted, nearly cried. They are now slathered in salt. Tomorrow the spices, with additional dried chillies, will be heated up with the  vinegar & sugar before going in jars, & stashed in the cupboard for a while. Not for me, for hubby. He loves pickled onions. Did'nt exactly jump for joy when I told what I was doing ...
An early start this morning, I collected some of my well rotted horse poo stash from my allotment, fortunately still in old compost bags, to give Mum's flower borders a boost. Mum was still in bed when I arrived, & the green garden waste bin not put out, bin men not been so that was my first job, then crack on with the borders ... One area has been completely smothered by Allium triquetrum. IT NEEDS TO BE ERADICATED, BUT HOW? Not only does it stink but it's gradually spreading throughout the whole garden coming in the lawn as well as the beds. 2 areas appear to be free  of it at present but for how long. :-( Bin men arrived, emptied the bin, I emptied the  garden waste from the compost bags & the bin was virtually full again. It won't be collected for another two weeks. 4 & a bit hours later, the front garden has been weeded, pruned, & dug over, apart from the one bed of Three-cornered leek. I zapped a small patch with weed killer this morning so I'll see how it reacts. Mum came out armed with secateurs, and within minutes cut her finger, without noticing it has to be said, the bloody fingers were the clue. It was too cold for Mum to be out there so I sent her off to make a coffee. There was a chilly wind and no sunshine this morning. Definitely NOT tee shirt weather. The back garden next, that will be a slighter bigger job, a complete pull apart & start again. Then emptying plants from the numerous pots dotted about, finding their "forever home" ( what is that all about???) in the borders.
Home for lunch, a couple of little jobs in the greenhouse, then shallot prep.

Put a tealight in one of my decorated jars  and set it in the window tonight for the National Day of Reflection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.