Man Made for Mono Monday

Another beautiful sunshiny morning ... Breakfast while doing Sunday's crossword ... Laundry on the line. Flask of coffee made, it was time to hit the allotment. I did'nt see a soul on the way up to the site. One chap pruning  fruit bushes. I did a bit of weeding, turned some more ground, planted a rhubarb crown, the last to make a row. I still have 4 fruit bushes to find homes for, a very healthy blackcurrant given to me by a friend completed another row of fruit bushes. Another compost bin virtually full, fortunately not too much weeding left to do.  One of my allotment neighbour's,  a farm vet, arrived with her two young sons, Benjamin & Freddie, their first day of homeschooling. Mum was turning the ground, the boys raking the soil and planting beetroot seed. She informed me that a teacher, a parent, & a child from the local primary school had all tested positive with the corona virus. The vets had been contacted to check on respirators that they might have in their practices.
Tonight's broadcast should wake people up to the severity of this pandemic. I could not believe seeing all those people travelling on the London underground  on this evenings news.
Measured up the old decking boards that I'm making into raised beds .. Need to optimise the planting area on the plot, & make the most from the timber. Brought the measurements home but have'nt got around to jiggling the figures yet.
Made a spicy chicken curry for hubby's dinner. I used up the orts from yesterday, with a dahl & jacket spud.

This is part of my plastic pot collection, that I shall obviously use over & over again.  The challenge is stacking them tidily as there are so many different shapes & sizes. The plastic pollution is a real problem. Fibre pots are an alternative, I actually spotted some planted up for retailing in a garden centre recently, so I guess some progress is being made, a step in the right direction, but a long way to go.

Thanks to ApolloFly for hosting Mono Monday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.