Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Dark-eyed Junco

....of the Pink-sided Rocky Mountain variety.  Juncos come in many different colors and patterns.  We also have the Slate-colored ones here.  I liked the way his coloring blended so nicely with the rocks and, since he'll be leaving us soon, I thought he should be my Wild Wednesday blip.  They arrive with the first snow and leave sometime in March every year. We are just about 20 miles east of their year-round territory (in the mountains) so they don't have far to go. :-)

Speaking of migrating birds, there has been osprey activity at our local nest (with the webcam).  Neither of the resident pair has returned yet but there was a female visitor eating a fish on the nest perch today and the camera caught it beautifully.  Here's a link to the web site if you're interested.  Besides the live stream, there are comments below that sum up the day's activities.  As soon as the ground dries a bit, I'll go over and check in person.  I'm sure it's terribly muddy right now!

Becky is taking off on Friday and we're going to spend the day together.  I am grateful that we'll be able to be together maskless for the first time in a year! :-))

Thank you for your visits and all the stars and hearts on my blips! xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.