Sitting Pretty

The sun eventually broke through and it became a very pleasant day.

I wanted to follow up the swans at Stonebow as last week they'd looked as if they were getting into breeding  mode.

I can hardly believe that the female built this platform in just one week. Perhaps she just rejuvenated last year's nest. Barriers of branches and twigs have been built roundabout to stop people, and dogs, from getting too near. Good thing I took the long lens today. 

She was constantly pecking swan down from her chest and lining the nest with it as well as re-arranging the twigs. Finally, she simply laid down to rest, as seen in today's shot.

According to the RSPB website, this pair are breeding a month early. I need to wait 35-41 days to find out if there will be cygnets.

Fortunately, the paths around the washlands had begun to dry out. Basil and I took the path by the Blackbrook hoping to come out on a monument on Garendon Estate. All we found were the remains of a burnt out motorcycle and a collection of 20 Budweisers and a white wine bottle. Someone had found the need to party.

I'm sure I have a guidebook to Garendon Estate somewhere. I need to look it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.