Going Through

This is the Água de Prata aqueduct from the carpark in Évora where we used to park when we lived in Mora, to the north. The aqueduct was designed in the early 16th C by the same engineer who designed the Torre de Belém in Lisbon; it connects Évora to the Divor River 9km away and solved the town's water supply problems in this dry region. Love the way the road goes through it - here and in other places.

Anyway... we were near here ordering a long orthopedic glove for my wrist which - hurray and hallelujah - is not fractured. I was so impressed with the hospital and how quickly I was X-rayed. No charge, though will have to pay €70+ for the glove, which I should use for three weeks or so, if I take care.

I am actually filled with gratitude:
- not having to take a Covid test, was dreading that
- the efficiency of the hospital system, really reassuring to find that out
- that it's not fractured
- Mike driving me there
- being able to get a couple of things in Évora that I'd resigned myself to doing without
- so many people being so lovely to me about the whole thing, including the Blip community, what a special lot you are!
- and our support group who prayed, am sure it made a difference
- Cecílio and Ermelinda making sure we knew where to go and offering to take me themselves at any time of the night, such good friends
- adding another - my robust Fujifilm surviving the fall, as you can see (though I probably hurt my wrist saving it as much as I could, priorities!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.