A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Changes.

Today is the start of British Summertime in the UK so, of course, it is wild and blowy with sun and rain! Heatwave forecast on Tuesday they say and winter back in time for Easter.  All normal then!

Tomorrow we take another step out of lockdown.  We can meet in groups of up to six outside or one other family/bubble. So walking with the ladies will be back on Thursday and plans to meet family are underway.

During lockdown I have been doing lots of jigsaws, think I’m becoming an addict! In the blip you can see numbers 9 and 10 since Christmas. A classic Ravensburger and a Cornish village. When I opened this I was dubious as the pieces were odd shapes and thin but they locked together really well. It just says Cornwall on the box but I’m sure someone will recognise the place. I’ve just started another Angela Harding, a lovely spring scene of daffodils and hares. Can’t resist.

Mornings are for walking or occasionally gardening. I usually do jigsaws in the afternoon when the light is good and evening knitting and zoom quizzes etc That's how I’ve got through lockdown.

We’ve just had a lovely zoom Palm Sunday service where we started by making our own Palm Sunday crosses. Next week there are services for Holy week in church and Easter Sunday will be in church too. 
I put the books into my collage and I’ve just read these two (both Christmas presents) I always read, and I’ve read Chris Packham in the bath ( yes I know some people think I’m crazy) and Hamnet in bed. After 10  years of retirement I still can’t bring myself to read during the day!

I mention them as I think they are exceptional. Not everybody likes Chris Packham but so much of what he says in this book, alongside his step daughter, makes absolute sense and he’s very readable.

Hamnet went beyond expectation. I’ve read award winning books where I’ve felt I could see why they had won a prize but have not necessarily enjoyed them. This, despite its sad theme, was a fabulous read.

So that’s what’s been happening with me of late but with the coming of summertime I’m hoping that  much is going to change. Less zooming especially, which has been great but I’m ready to sing properly and I think I’ve had enough zoom quizzes to last a lifetime! 

And lighter evening to look forward to!

If you look back a year Frank is still waiting and Eda is missing him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.