randomgirl

By randomgirl

Rampant wild flowers

Not having been along this particular path for a good few weeks, I got a nice surprise today when I saw this big mass of flowers growing so well amongst all the dead wood and fallen branches. I think it's called White Butterbur. (I wasn't familiar with it, so thankyou to Brianblip who identified it for me previously, when I'd seen it elsewhere at a much earlier stage and included it as an extra photo) https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2814647854092520326

On the same walk today I also enjoyed seeing a lush green carpet of Wild Garlic growing beside the paths. That wasn't there either just a couple of weeks ago. It's amazing to see the changes that go on, once you start taking more notice. I put a couple of photos in the extras to show how fresh and vibrant the wild garlic was looking. To be honest it was a bit of a toss up between all three photos, but the Butterburs just slightly won it for me!

UPDATE 29th March:
Oh dear, I just looked up about White Butterbur on the web and found out it's a non-native invasive species here in Scotland, that originates from Central Europe and South West Asia! https://www.invasivespecies.scot/white-butterbur
Apparently the Common Butterbur is our native one (a pinky purple colour). The white one does particularly well on damp ground and near rivers, which makes sense as I found it close to the burn and boggy patches. I feel a bit sad about it, because I thought it looked so pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.