WATER WATER EVERYWHERE

Such a glorious day today so we decided to pop up to Ullswater. We left  home at 10:15 and were back home again by 12:30, still trying to keep within Covid Rules and only travelling locally.

The Kirkstone Pass was in very thick fog, so much so that we had to crawl past the Kirkstone Inn and could only see it when we were on top of it.  However Ullswater and surrounds were bathed in bright sunshine interspersed with misty clouds, some dark.

It was fairly quiet but still a few more people about than I thought.  Most were from Cumbria but there were still a few that obviously weren't from the area!!

In fact it was so bright, too bright for photography really, I managed to shoot this away from the sun but most of my lakes shots really are too bright.  However the colours of the inland photographs are quite lovely.  The lake was so full, spilling over onto the road in a few places.  Nothing dreadful just trickles, but it wouldn't take much.

Oh for a time when I can stay out all day as I will have access to drinks and facilities.  A little way off yet I think.

It was a weird feeling, although Ullswater is still in Cumbria and quite local it felt as if we had escaped to another world.  I felt both a sense of release and panic.  Strange huh.  Apparently we are still supposed to stay local until 12th April!  I'm not holding my breath on that front.

Good News front I had a text and email regarding the trial I took part in to confirm that I am Covid Negative - phew!!!  It came through somewhat quickly so how good it is I don't know.  

On passing through Patterdale I took a couple of photos of a small steam/waterfall and there was a "real" photographer down on the banks all set up with his gear.  It was good to see a Photographer, in normal times I would have tried to have a chat, but he looked busy so best not to disturb him.   Lots of canoeists and surf paddles about.

It has reminded me that there are some walks I want to do around there and some places to explore around Patterdale.  Maybe come next Autumn/Winter, as well as Buttermere of course.

Bowness was quite quiet for Bowness although lots of cars parked around, probably people out walking.  We didn't stop of course.  It is strange seeing Windemere without all the cruisers going around the lake.  

All in all it was a pleasant couple of hours out.  A bit of a nip in the air but still a pleasant Spring day.

Hope you are all well  and continuing to stay safe.  See you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.