The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Warmest March day in UK since 1968

I had my lunch in Park Gardens again today (see last Weds 24th). On the way I stopped to talk to a 91 year old woman I know. She was walking with the aid of a walker (frame) and could not understand why other people were giving her a wide berth, even stepping into the road. She seemed upset about it. I did not know what to say in reply.

Later, in the park, I mused that those others were just trying to follow social distancing guidelines. Another younger friend stopped to chat and said that she'd read of an Indian woman, living in the UK, recently widowed, who did not understand why other women were crossing the street to avoid her. Of course it was because of their inability to speak to hear about death, but to her this was an alien concept and translated as unfriendliness.I do worry bout our mental health during this pandemic.

In the town, I caught up with the 91 year old again and explained about the social distancing. She replied, I know THAT. ..! Still, she seems to have regained her Catholic faith, which I think she had lost for a while, so I hope that her God and her fellow-congregants are keeping an eye on her.

When I got home, the house felt deliciously cool. I unpacked my latest order of cards and sorted them out for customers. Then friend D started texting me about possible holidays in October, saying the one we'd wanted had already been fully booked, and would I look at some other options? Right now, holidaying anywhere in October seems as likely as holidaying on the moon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.