carliewired

By carliewired

The Last of March

A late start on a
sunny morning - it was worth
the walk on the trail

~ carliewired

I needed to run some errands before I was free to walk with my camera. It gave me a start later than I would like, but the weather continued to improve through the morning. 

I parked on Front Street intending to walk the Rivers Trail between the end of 8th Street and the boat launch at Pioneer Park. I've not walked this portion of the trail before. 

This section gives some views of the South Thompson River and my favourite mountains, Peter and Paul, from a different angle than the one I see from my house. So much is still looking very wintery in drab browns and greys. I did see buds on trees and bird activity which encouraged me. The temperature was comfortable and the wind was calm. 

The trail took me on the north side of the tennis courts and across a foot bridge. The creek running under the bridge was not named which is an oversight. I'm sorry to say one side of the creek held a good deal of litter which should have been disposed of elsewhere. 

I got a good look at a Pileated woodpecker hammering away at a utility pole. It is our largest woodpecker. It aggressively launched at any other bird that came within range. 

Someone had set themselves up to fish from the end of the boat launch. The surface of the boat launch was reinforced with a particular type of brick that formed an interlocking pattern that a quilter can well appreciate. The sand around the boat launch was light and sparkly in the sunshine. Little rock cairns were propped up at the river's edge. It was quite a lovely spot this morning. From that location on the river one gets a good view of the Red Bridge.

I walked back the same way and found a branch to hang my quilted heart on. This one is my favourite so far. It's the last bit of this orange batik! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.