Arachne

By Arachne

Rubbish

As soon as tiny leaves betray their roots, I dig out the remnants of the weeds we tried to eradicate last year. At least two alkanet every day, often more, some going a long way down. (The convolvulus and ivy are yet to emerge.) Digging out one last week I hit metal. I dug some more. A hefty fence post. In the middle of a bed. Why? I dug deeper and deeper. The topsoil ended and I reached clay. The rusty post still wouldn't budge.

I asked my metal-cutting neighbour whether he could cut it out for me. I went inside for something and when I came out it was tidily on the path ready for me to resume my role of part-time scrap metal merchant.

This heap is a bit harder to get rid of. Though someone did collect a random orange wheel from me today, courtesy of Freegle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.