ORTON

A short trip out on my own this morning.  I just went for a stroll around Orton Village as there are a few walks in the area I would like to do later in the year when facilities are open and if things pan out OK that I wanted to investigate.

It's a place I really like and want to investigate more.  I just followed the little becks that runs around it today, via the playground.  I think the becks are tributaries to the River Lune.  It did seem odd having Kennedy's shut.  I've found a few footpaths it would be good to investigate.  I must look up accessible (for me) walks too.  

I then drove on up to Shap before heading home.  However I went via Greenholme this time, just because I wanted to, small unclassified road.  If you see the top large photo in he collage you an see that I've managed to get the train heading to Carlisle and Edinburgh.  

It was very cold and cloudy but still pleasant enough.  I was only out again for 2 hours so as to minimise time out. 

Orton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.