Oeuf

Sometimes it’s the patients that make it worthwhile.
Here’s my breakfast courtesy of one lovely lady who’s followed me from my old job and every six weeks I squeeze her! Meibomian gland dysfunction oft the cause of horrible chronic dry eyes whereby the oil glands in the eyes are blocked and upsets the balance of the tear film.
No oil means the watery component doesn’t stick, evaporates leaving the itchy dry protein molecules instead... which dry the eye further.
You need to break the cycle
So it is with my great pleasure that I become Miss Eye Pimple Popper
Heated eye bags for ten minutes
Anaesthetise
Forceps
Squeeze
It comes out like toothpaste and trust me, is very very satisfying.
One happy patient and a dozen fresh eggs from her chooks to me.

Otherwise? Crap day full on at work. Four referrals including an emergency referral closed angle glaucoma. The pressure in your eye should be about 15, this lady’s right eye, 45! Pupil blown. OUCH! Sent her off to the hospital and she came back two minutes later with a bottle of wine, Harvey Nicks, dontcha know.
It’s not all bad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.