Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Flowers

As I was going back to the car at the pharmacy, I noticed a bush off to the side with these pretty white flowers. It was a little breezy and my eyes are a little bit blurry so I don’t know how sharp they are. I do like the slight contrast between the sunlit and shaded parts.

I’ve taken some migraine medicine and expect to nod off any moment but I wanted to take care of my blip first. The headache is the worst of the lingering side effects of the Covid vaccination but am still feeling like a wet dishrag.

Today is the first full day I have had to run my air conditioning. I believe it’s also the first day we’ve crossed the 90°/32° threshold. I noticed a few hedgehog cactus bloom earlier but they had already started to close up so I didn’t bother with a picture. My backyard grizzly prickly pear cactus looks like it’s about to pop any day now. I’ll have to keep an eye out early in the morning.
For the uninitiated to cactus flowers, almost all species last less than a day. They’ll bloom early in the morning but by mid afternoon they’re shriveling.

Thanks for all your well wishes on my icky reaction to my second COVID jab. I’m a big baby. The good news is that I will have put it all behind me when I leave Monday for five nights in Madera Canyon. I’m hoping to hit hummingbird migration just right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.