The second half of life..

By twigs

Merv's mate

I'd barely sat down with my second cup of coffee outside in the sun when this fella crawled up the chair arm heading for the table.  I of course, headed indoors to grab the camera and there followed another wonderful half hour or so of full macro immersion just like yesterday.  I had thought it may have been Merv from yesterday but I noted that Merv was happily slumped in my lettuces enjoying a snooze in the sun; I figured this must be Merv's mate who'd just dropped in on him but didn't want to disturb his slumbers.  What a thoughtful friend he is!

It was fun tracking him as he wandered over the table top.  This was taken at the very end of the table when he appeared to be readying for a leap across a small chasm to another plant.  If only I'd trusted my thinking and kept the camera trained on him, then I may have captured him rearing up just before giving a mighty push from his legs and a handful of wing flaps to clear the 30 cm chasm easily.  Another one of those images that will stay in my memory, never to be shared.  He did look menacingly beautiful as he reared up.

Popped round to J's where we enjoyed a relaxing game of backgammon in the sun accompanied by a very refreshing beer.  What a lovely Easter day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.