Easter

Willow makes a disruptive bedmate. She likes to wake up and walk all over
my face.

Much to do this morning, cleaning and preparing. Then back to the garden. I mused, as I scrubbed the slabs, how come I can hate and avoid washing the kitchen floor, any floor in fact, with such a passion yet throw myself into scrubbing the slabs. Unfortunately it's having very little effect. Another solution must be found.

I cooked a Sunday lunch at lunchtime for the first time since I don't know when. Lamb of course, being Easter, with beans in the French style, with garlic, but the French don't eat lamb very much. Then lemon tart and cream.

I bought myself an egg, an expensive one because I'm worth it. Michael brought me home made Easter millionaire's shortbread. It was a lot colder and windier outside than yesterday. Michael and Hannah had been on the Meadows yesterday but they left before the trouble kicked off.

There were international family chats, first with #2 son who was just about to start eating his dinner somewhere in KL. As he said to his gran every time they speak he's eating. Then mum spoke to J in the Ardeche.

I don't do Easter decorations, unlike my non religious friends, but I've had the chicken candle decs for years so it felt right to bring them out today for lunch, but no candles. I find it odd that the atheists in my friendship group go so big on the most important date in the Christian calendar when it only means chocolate and egg hunts to them. When it still meant something to me I felt the contemplation and reflection at Easter was more important than decorations and fripperies. I walked away from religion over 10 years ago but I still think Easter is better spent with family and not over the top. But, I do have that expensive egg. Mmm.

Now normality has been restored and it's just me, Willow and 'Antiques Roadshow'.

F2F - 3
Phone calls - 0
Virtual - 1

Recovery day 72

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.