carliewired

By carliewired

At the River's Edge

A cold blast from the 
west made walking a very 
big challenge today

~ carliewired

I was up at 7 to see that Mt. Peter was wearing a white toupee. Thankfully, it didn't last long as the temperature climbed it melted away. The sky was grey with high cloud. It did not look promising for photos this morning. 

On the Rivers Trail near McArthur Island, the wind was biting. I struggled to control my camera as gusts wanted to take it out of my hands. Most birds had found themselves a much warmer and calmer place to hang out this morning. I might have taken their lead! 

I discovered a small flock of teals were on the river. They were very intent on finding food and were dabbling in the shallows. The males are very handsome with teal on their heads and sides. They are smaller than mallards and look rather cute as they scurry about. 

One pair of mallards sat on the ridge beside the walkway and above the river. They cautiously watched me approach. 

A pair of Canada geese tippy-toed along the edge of the river. 

The river held its own sculptures today in the current. Driftwood has its own elegance. 

I placed my quilted heart on a cornerpost of the guage wire fence with hopes it would withstand the icy blasts. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.