My memory bear

So close to being finished - he just needs a nose. I'll blip him again when I've done the nose and mouth. But this evening I've been desperately trying to finish it, and so have to show you. He is made of panels all made from 6 of my dad's shirts, plus a tiny bit on the back of his ears is from a favourite jumper. He has proper hinges so that the arms legs and head can move, which I bought on ebay. A bit of guess work as to what size, but they worked and I googled what to do with them yesterday. The eyes I also bought on ebay. Not as easy to insert, but I muddled through after 3 attempts. I quite fancy making a proper hairy bear now. This pattern I found free online, and he has proper long arms. I scaled it down as it was supposed to be a trial, but 3 months later and I am in no hurry to make another one!

I began the day with a walk to the allotment to feed the hens and collected 2 warm eggs. The farmers were ploughing the field opposite our plot, and birds were circling. I could have just stood and watched them for ages.

But work was calling, so a day in the summerhouse. Which by the time I got in there was nice and warm thanks to Jon's fire making skills. As the weather spent the day snowing on and off, there was no question that there was going to be a fire - whatever the neighbour thinks.

Had a quick catch up with mum this evening, and showed her my bear. I think she liked him.

I'm going to stitch on a black nose from wool now...After googling how!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.