A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Dare to Remember

Back in my youth I had a Saturday Job at a 'family owned' independent hardware department store - cross Grace Brothers with B&Q and you're somewhere close.

I worked in the Electrical Department where I learnt many things, mostly just how many different light bulb combinations there were.  You need a Rough Service, Pearl, 79 watt, Large Edison Screw, semi-reflector spot? I was your man (especially as they were on the top floor and most staff would have expired before reaching them).

Anyway, the most distinctive 'stylistic' lighting we had in the shop was by a company called där. All very exotic and Scandinavian-sounding - beware I'm measuring exotic on a 1970's scale.

Finding this label on the bottom of a table lamp brought back all sorts of fond memories. Finding där to be based in... <drum roll>...

Banbury

is something of an underwhelming moment.


---
PS.  Wow, the shop has a wikipedia entry!   "The shop had worldwide attention when one of the world's oldest working light bulbs stopped working in 2001" - I rest my case :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.