FLOWER FRIDAY

I had been saving the last bunch of tulips that Mr. HCB bought me - well I bought them two weeks ago, but as he said, “If I had been going shopping, you know I would have bought them for you.”  They are now past their best, which is how many Blippers like them, and I really do, but this one, in the bunch I bought at Aldi yesterday - also from Mr. HCB - caught my eye.

I don’t think it looks much like a tulip, more like a peony, so I wonder if its growth was actually stunted, because only one other in the bunch is the same.  I’m not sure even what causes this to happen - but now, having looked on the internet, I wonder if they are double tulips - because looking at various photographs on different websites, they do look more like peony flowers.  Perhaps one of my more knowledgeable gardening friends will know the answer.  I have put the other one from the bunch in as an extra, so that you can see what I mean.  Mr. HCB preferred this one for my Blip, so I have gone with his choice.

More decluttering done this  morning, even before I came downstairs!  It’s so hard knowing what to keep, what to put into the recycling bin and what to send to a charity shop, especially when it is something encouraging that a very dear friend wrote to you many years ago when you were lacking motivation but which, interestingly, is still relevant today.  

I decided to keep that and quote from it below:

“Be kind to yourself.
     Prescription : face pack, scented candle, 
          go for for a pedicure, 
               soppy novel, buy some flowers, 
look at old photo albums, 
     meet someone you haven’t seen for a while, 
          start a new garden project.  
Wear a new lippy, perfume, knickers 
     or all three at once and only those three!  
Do most of these things and report back.
     Remember I love you my friend.
          Fat, thin, young, old, grey, blonde 
               or coal black hair.”
Your friend, Sue

P.S.  Thank you for your kind comments for yesterday's abstract - and I apologise if I didn't get round to responding, but I am grateful to you all.  By the way, I don't have to do 100 abstracts consecutively, just 100 over a period of time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.