Symbol

You know when you have the radio burbling in the background and suddenly the book reading is interrupted you just know that HRH has died. Didn't even need that sonerous phrase 'We are interrupting this programme'. Like my great aunt 3 years ago, weeks off his centenary.

I met him three times. First when he gave me my D of E Gold Award at Holyrood. I had sunglasses on as I'd been knocked down down by a bus. He remarked on my look. It was in the days when you met him at the door out into the garden. Then when I was on the D of E Scottish Committee I met him again when I was hosting an award group, this time in a room in the Palace. Again he was very charming and interested. #1 son met him during his stint in the army and of course he awarded my first degree from Edinburgh University in 1975. He always championed young people.

One minute after the news came through on R4 #1 son messaged me from KL. And I cried as a very slow rendition of the National Anthem played, I don't know why but I cried. I remember about 1958 when I was about 5 hearing on the radio that he'd been created Prince Philip. I thought it was Prince Fillet, like fish. And of course I slept in his bed, or rather the bed he'd slept in, when I stayed at the Consulate in Istanbul when my friend Dame B was Consul General. HM had had the larger room along the corridor.

I feel for the Queen and the family, yes he was 99 but still sad and he's been there all my life.

Elsewhere, some gardening, lots of work, Zoomers. It's Friday again and I won the quiz.

F2F - 3
Phone calls - 3
Virtual - 0

Recovery day 77

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.