Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Sheep tales from today

There were good and bad less good parts to today

Good: The forecast of a mere 2 degrees C was wrong by a long way AND there was no wind
Bad: By the time I had climbed the steps up to Fallowfield from Wall Village, I was lathered and had to remove coat, hat and gloves.

Bad: there are more stiles than I remembered
Good: all but one is very stable and easy to negotiate (if you have long enough legs).

Good: the route for next Wednesday's walk worked out fine
Bad: I lost concentration and ended up nearly in Acomb village necessitating a walk back up hill.

Good: That meant that I was in position when the farmer brought his quad bike and dog into a field to move the sheep. It was fun to watch them. One ewe made a brave attempt to stay on her own, but was noticed and the dog brought her into line.

Good: I met Alan the dog who greeted me with lots of sloppy licks.
Bad: His owner told me he had just been gorging on sheep poo.

Good: I have two lovely picnic spots for coffee and lunch
Bad: the walk took me longer than I anticipated because I sat and enjoyed the views.

The final Good is my extra. Free the Codlaw Three I say. These three naughty sheep had broken into someone's garden and three farmers on two quad bikes came to bring them back to the fold. They look so innocent.

I'm knackered!


We had a heavy downfall of snow this evening. It covered the lawn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.