Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Out and about in Humshaugh

This morning I started to knit the tiny (and very fiddly) white rabbit needed for a charity project about refugees. He is Rafi, the refugee rabbit. For some reason I had to knit double knitting wool on number 11 needles. Too fine for my liking.

Then I had a burst of energy and cleaned various parts of the house until lunch.

At 2pm there was a Zoom meeting at the Amber Collective (the Side Gallery in Newcastle) to discuss ethics, morality and documentary photography. I found the discussion stimulating, but a  bit esoteric.

One interesting point was to think about how consent applies as the years go by and when the original work may be repurposed, or, indeed, copied without permission across social media.

It was late afternoon when I went for a quick walk "around the block" which means through the village to Haughton Mains Farm and back. I often photograph the landscape, but rarely include the machinery. This tractor looked remarkably clean, but it's been dry for a few days.

I had two long chats on the route. One with the owners of Poppy and Nell who are boxers. Nell was a rescue dog and friends told them that she was much too calm for a typical boxer. Poppy, younger and full of spirit, is much more typical. They both came to make friends.

Then I stopped to chat to Graham who was busy in his vegetable garden. He is a photographer, walker and cyclist, so we had plenty to talk about.

Home, made a meal and we have watched the next episode of the Queen's Gambit. It's excellent although I fear for the main character in the long run.

Mum talked about Prince Philip. She remembers the royal romance and how the country was delighted to see the young happy couple. They were a very similar age. Margret knew a lot about the school he attended in Germany and the headmaster who moved to Scotland and set up Gordonstoun. Interesting stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.