Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Well met indeed (and not by moonlight)!

I was champing at the bit to go for a walk today.

I started from Steel Rigg car park. It was quite busy and I saw that a good number of people were on Hadrian's Wall Trail. One of my favourite routes is to go north of the Wall. This allows great views of the Wall and of Sycamore Gap, but is a wide open space with few other walkers.

Today I was lucky enough to meet Andy (Greenhalgh) and Gemma (Eddington). They are both actors. Andy used to be in the Northumberland Theatre Company (NTC) back in the late 70s. He and Gemma now teach at Regent's University in London. They came to Northumberland on their honeymoon 24 years ago.

Harley, the dog, was extremely well behaved and knew how to pose without any instruction!

I enjoyed one of my favourite routes via Greenlee Farm, and the boardwalk over Greenlee Lough. A late lunch in the bird hide.

Great news! The section of board walk that used to be a permissive path and closed because it was time expired, has reopened. 

This meant that I could walk on Bonnyrigg Farm land and see the Jacob sheep (no lambs yet) and the Highland cattle (see extra). My legs were tired by the time I had climbed up to the car park again, but it was a most enjoyable walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.